Pret-tea in Pink: Part 1

I’m determined to find a cheap way to detox my body that actually works and won’t require much work (unlike juicing). This time around, I’m trying Jillian Michaels’s detox tea.

I’ve always been curious about the Dandelion Root Tea mentioned in Jillian Michaels’s detox tea. What’s different about it than other teas? For one, it’s PINK!! Unlike dark-color teas that are made from the leaves of a plant, pink teas are herbal and made from a root or flower. This particular tea supports a healthy digestive system and, therefore, weight loss.

Jillian Michaels’s detox tea claims to allow you to lose five pounds in seven days if you drink 60 oz. of it per day. But how does it work? And how hard is it to drink 60 oz. of water per day? The recipe is simple, and drinking 60 oz. of water per day is easier when you break it up into smaller amounts throughout the day.

peach tea 2

This is a recipe I got from KissMeOrganics. You bet I’ll be trying this one this summer!

Ingredients:
60 oz. of distilled water
1 Dandelion Root Tea bag
2 tablespoons of lemon juice
1 tablespoon of sugar-free cranberry juice

You can find most of the ingredients at a health food store. I used regular Poland Spring bottled water instead of distilled water, juice from a lemon vs. the bottled lemon juice, and Just Cranberry juice from R.W. Knudsen brand. And I got the Dandelion Root Tea from KissMeOrganics on Amazon.

About the Tea and Detox Program
Dandelion Root Tea is organic and supports healthy digestion, kidney health, and liver function. It is rich in Vitamins A, C, D, and B-complex with Iron, Potassium, and Zinc. The added cinnamon and hibiscus flavors are proven to regulate blood pressure and reduce cholesterol.

That’s why Jillian Michaels chose this tea in her detox recipe. The tea helps cleanse your liver and kidneys; the lemon boosts your immune system, helps digestion, and helps flush out toxins from your body (the detox part); and the cranberry juice, besides being rich in vitamins and nutrients, helps burn fat with its organic acids. This seems like the perfect mix to aid in weight loss.

20150321_213433My Thoughts
Before I tried the tea, I read somewhere that Dandelion Root Tea would taste bitter and leave a funny taste in my mouth, but the hibiscus and cinnamon flavors add a fruity and earthy flavor. Also, the lemon and cranberry juice gave the tea some zing. It was light, refreshing, and didn’t leave a nasty aftertaste.

To ensure I drank 60 oz. of water per day, I used three 20 oz. blender bottles that I usually use for working out. This made drinking that much water throughout the day much easier. I drank one bottle in the morning before lunchtime, another bottle between lunch and the end of the work day, and the final bottle between the time I got home and bedtime.

At the time of this writing, I’ve only been drinking this regimen for one day. My experience so far has been OK – I’ve been peeing my brains out, but that means I’m losing weight! Read about my results in Part 2.

Have you ever tried this detox? What are your recommendations for me? Did it work for you?

Sponsored by BrandBacker and KissMeOrganics.

Related Links:
“What’s the difference between pink tea and other types of tea?” – Seasoned Advice

One thought on “Pret-tea in Pink: Part 1

Leave a Comment Here

