My Experience with a Personal Trainer

It’s true that men and women lose weight differently. Science has shown that men are able to lose weight more easily than women because they have higher metabolism due to denser muscle mass. That has discouraged me for years but this year is going to be different. We all can attain our goal weight through hard work and dedication. One of my 2015 New Year’s resolutions is to be more dedicated to my weight-loss goal than ever before. Here’s how I plan to do it.

In the Gymsport

I’ve been working out at the gym since 2009, but a few weeks ago was my first experience with a professional personal trainer. He taught me a lot about what I’ve been doing right and what I’ve been doing wrong.

I’ve been strength training for years but frequently hit plateaus in my weight loss. He says that it’s a mixture of seriously sticking to a clean diet and pushing myself beyond my limits. Through my shortness of breath he could tell that what I had been doing was wasted effort.

He introduced me to high intensity interval training – phew, even saying it is a mouthful! By alternating short bursts of intense workout with short periods of less-intense workout, your body will burn more fat in a shorter time period and allow you to break through your plateau. I’ve already seen results, and this is only the second week of my training schedule.

In the Kitchen

I spent about $45 on groceries this week, including chicken, turkey, yogurt, veggies, and fruit. There are plenty of ways you can proportion your meals so that you can fit in five meals per day – recommended to me by my trainer. This will help increase your metabolism also.

His recommendations:

  1. Eat a healthy breakfast EVERY DAY – something I struggle with because obviously coffee doesn’t count as breakfast.
  2. Add variety to your meals so that you don’t get bored or tired with your selections.
  3. Eat about every three hours, at least five times per day (three large meals and two snacks).
  4. Do a HIIT workout three times per week, and give your body at least two days to recuperate.
  5. Do a 10-minute cardio warm-up to get sweaty, work out, then do a 10-minute slow walk on the treadmill. Stretch afterwards.

The best part about this plan is that you don’t need a gym to do a workout. If you feel that you can properly push yourself at home, go for it! But the one expense I won’t cut out of my budget is my gym membership. I highly encourage getting a personal trainer to anyone who needs to move to the next level. They are a big motivation booster and can make you realize that you might not be where you want to be on your fitness journey. Good luck!

 

Related Articles

Why It Really Is Harder for Women to Lose Weight — The Washington Post
7 Reasons To Try High-Intensity Interval Training — Women’s Health

One thought on “My Experience with a Personal Trainer

Leave a Comment Here

