MOVING OUT!

My new year’s resolutions list is getting smaller and smaller – just in time to make a new one! The next thing I’m going to check off is moving out of my parents’ house, so here’s my list of the best stores to get durable but affordable furniture.

Furniture

Places like Ashley Furniture and Raymour & Flanigan put together furniture sets that are cheaper than buying each item separately – a good bargain for good furniture. Mattresses can range from $200-$300, and I’ll probably go to Sleepy’s since mattresses don’t vary too much in price. My favorite stores carry first-apartment-type furniture and décor also: Target, Home Goods, and I’m loosely saying Walmart because of its housewares.

Housewaresmoving_boxes

Dinnerware is cheap at Costco or Sam’s Club, and Home Goods is good for everything and anything you’re looking for – bedding, kitchenware, décor, etc. – for a reasonable price. Of course I can always hope for hand-me-downs or thrift-store options (which can be really cheap if you know where to look). Also, rummage sales and garage sales often hold valuable treasures for a low cost.

MISC. but Important Stuff

It depends on whether your agreement includes a refrigerator, oven/stove, or microwave, but you can always find quality appliances at Walmart or Sears. As someone on a budget, I’m not too worried about decorating my apartment at first. The most important things on my list are a bed or mattress (as long as I have a mattress, I can sleep) and cookware to make meals. You can always wait on the nonessentials, especially if there’s an end-of-season sale coming up!

Do you have any tips for me? Have you moved into your own apartment yet? What can I expect? Tell me in the comments below!

 

Related Articles

New York Magazine – “The Budget Decorator”

Huffington Post – “43 Best Websites For Furniture, Home Goods And Decor That Will Make Decorating A Snap”

Zing by Quicken Loans – “Top 10 Places for Affordable Home Décor”

One thought on “MOVING OUT!

Leave a Comment Here

