Eat a Better, Cheaper Lunch

If you’re like me, you like bringing your lunch with you to work. Granted, I like going out for lunch sometimes when the weather is nice, but there’s nothing more comforting than a homemade coldcut sandwich. Thanks to Sargento and Influenster, I got to try Sargento’s new Ultra Thin Sliced deli cheese for free, and I absolutely love it!

I’m generally a turkey -and-Swiss-cheese-sandwich kind of girl, so when I saw Sargento makes ultra thin sliced Swiss, I had to try it. They also have provolone, cheddar, Colby-jack, and pepper jack, all priced at $3.50 per package. (I got about one week’s-worth of sandwiches from one package.)

Mind you, if you were to buy a sandwich from a deli for lunch, you would spend between $3 and $10 (depending on where you live/work). For me, an average lunch costs between $5 and $8. If I buy lunch twice a week, that’s at least $40 per month. My weekly grocery shopping list costs about that much, and it’s so much more worth it.

The Huffington Post recently published an interesting article about this, too.

For lunch I like my sandwiches, and when I buy coldcuts, I make it a point to ask the person behind the counter to slice my cheese thin because I don’t like chucky cheese overpowering my honey-roasted turkey. There needs to be a balanced ratio of meat to cheese, and Sargento’s cheese gave my sandwich that balance.

Sometimes my local deli doesn’t even do a good job at slicing the cheese thin enough. I wind up having to take some off. And why should I pay for something I won’t eat?

I also liked the fact that Sargento’s new cheese is pre-packaged and sold in the dairy aisle – away from the mayhem of the coldcut line.

You can find Sargento’s new cheese slices at most supermarkets, too – Walmart didn’t have it, but both my local Shoprite and A&P carry it. You can find a store that sells it near you on Sargento’s website.

After trying Sargento’s new cheese, I will definitely put it on my weekly shopping list. It’s worth the value and is perfect for my sandwiches.

It isn’t very interesting, but my shopping list for this week includes:

  • Swiss cheese, $3.50
  • Honey-roasted turkey, $3
  • Wheat bread, $2.99
  • Yogurt, 5 for $4 ($0.80 each)
  • Frozen vegetables (x5), $1.99 each
  • Peanut butter, $3.99
  • Oatmeal, 3 for $5 ($1.67 each)

What does your shopping list look like? What’s your favorite lunch to make or buy? Do you usually buy your lunch or bring it from home? I’m not ashamed of bringing my lunch every day, and you shouldn’t be either! Saving money on lunches means that you can spend more money on a more extravagant dinner.  Sound off in the comments and let me know what you think!

voxbox-blogimage-popup2

 

 

 

 

 

Faith, Hope & Quinoa — Cheap Healthy Eating

Cook AZ I Do — Southwestern Cobb Salad with Cilantro Vinaigrette 

Leave a Comment Here

