Focus on 2014

With 2013 coming to a close, it’s the best time for a resolutions post. I’m all for making resolutions at the beginning of the year and adding to them as time goes on. My resolutions list from last year was two-pages long—I completed a good amount of them, too! This year I’m trying not to be too ambitious, but, then again, where’s the fun in that? I feel like if I don’t have any goals to achieve, I won’t be motivated or focused for anything. Focusing on my personal goals helps me be successful in other aspects of my life.

This is the first draft of my resolutions list. I'm always adding goals that I hope to achieve throughout the year. It's always good to start off small.

This is the first draft of my resolutions list. I’m always adding goals that I hope to achieve throughout the year. It’s always good to start off small.

To prepare for the year ahead, most people create a list of New Year’s Resolutions. Typically, the top resolutions include “lose weight,” “stop smoking,” or “earn more money.” However, these goals aren’t always easy to attain. Losing weight has been scientifically proven to be harder for us women than for men. So, to make our goals more easily attainable, let’s start off small.

For me, being healthy is always at the top of my resolutions list. That includes diet as well as increased exercise. For someone just starting out on this resolution, though, I would suggest to work with it week-to-week. Make a weekly goal and say, “I’m going to keep this up for myself and my health.” With the positive reinforcement from your support circle, you can definitely stick to this one. (Even if you don’t attain your target weight, at least you’ll be proud of the progress you make.)

Being healthy encompasses many aspects of daily life. I definitely need to eat better (more protein, less sugars, etc.) and weight train more. For other people, getting healthy might mean “watch less TV and read more” or “get a full eight-hours of sleep per night.” Mental health is just as important as physical health, and it’s influenced by many things we don’t necessarily realize.

Stimulating your brain can do a lot for your mental health, including heighten your reaction time and judgment. Reading a book vs. watching TV is a great start and is easily achievable. Instead of watching an hour-long show, allot that time to reading every night. Before you know it, you’ll have a new hobby and a growing brain!

The same can be said for sleeping eight hours a night (easier said than done, I know). Sleeping for a full cycle not only recharges your brain but also allows your muscles to rest and grow. (Drinking more water is also on my resolutions list—it also helps rejuvenate your muscles as well as cleanse your internal systems.) This is easily attainable for most people: Work is never more important than your health. So if you’re staying up late to work on a project and getting up early to get back to work, it probably isn’t worth losing sleep over.

This leads me to another popular resolution: learn how to balance work and a social life. I’m a young professional working a full-time job as a copy editor, but I still find the time to work out, go out with my boyfriend, and have a social life—ok, well two out of three ain’t bad, right? This is something I have to work on, but my plan is simple. Instead of being lazy or afraid to make the call, I’ll take initiative and organize dates with different people or organize gatherings to bring everyone together at once. Again, this one should be simple, but it’s always easier said than done.

Hence, the key to keeping a New Year’s Resolution is mental focus. If you want something bad enough, you will work hard to attain it. The easiest example I can give is if you want to “earn more money at work,” you should get certified, take classes to continue learning, or get yourself a mentor who can teach you while helping you network. Taking it slow at the beginning of the year and self-motivating yourself will set you up for success in the New Year.

2014 is going to be a good year. Keep the energy and Karma positive, and we all will thrive. Happy Holidays!

 

Also see:

http://sunburntandsalty.wordpress.com/2013/12/30/reflections/ (Sunburnt and Salty)
http://olympicnationalmarketing.wordpress.com/2013/12/30/why-january-1st-is-the-worst-day-to-make-resolutions/ (Olympic National Marketing)
http://happygoallucky.wordpress.com/2013/12/30/less-is-more/ (Happy Goal Lucky)

One thought on “Focus on 2014

Leave a Comment Here

