Cheap Holidays? Nope, Quality Holidays!

The holidays are upon us! Are you scrambling, looking for gift ideas this year? That’s usually me every year—until I found this wonderful website that gave me so many ideas. As someone looking to save money but still give quality gifts, I can say that money doesn’t always equal value. I’ve put together some ideas that I think would be perfect for anyone looking to pinch pennies this year but still keep their loved ones in mind this holiday season.

First of all, I would like to say that buying a gift isn’t always the way to go. I say that making a gift for someone is much more special: (1) it shows that you put the time and thought into the gift for that specific person, (2) it shows that you know what that person likes, (3) sentimental value is worth a lot more than what money can buy, and (4) people are more likely to keep your gift (since they can’t return it).

Another gift I feel is more special than buying one is spending time with the recipient. Sometimes life gets the best of me, and I can’t seem to make time for family or friends. One way I’m changing my ways is taking out friends or family members for dinner, therefore we get to spend valuable time together, and I can pay the bill. (Ok, so you would have to spend a little money here, but it’s worth it!)

If you aren’t the sentimental type, you can make a witty “coupon book” of helpful services, such as “This coupon is good for one free room cleaning,” or “One night of no washing dinner dishes,” etc. I personally think it’s cheesy, but other people might think differently.

For those of you who get suckered into the annual Secret Santa and have to spend a certain amount on a gift, I have a list for you, too. My list is $30 and under and can all be bought online (to save you the trouble of rummaging through store shelves).

Quirky is a cute website where I found practical gifts for under $30. (The website itself sponsors the development of products from independent inventors. Pretty cool!) It’s perfect for finding a gift for a coworker, summer barbequer, or techie. My favorite is the Pivot Power Junior. It’s a bendable power strip that fits four or six plugs at one time. Right now, it’s available for $15.99! What a great deal!

The Pivot Power Junior bends to fit tight spaces and awkward-sized plugs.

The Pivot Power Junior bends to fit tight spaces and awkward-sized plugs.

I always have the hardest time shopping for my dad. But this year I’ve discovered The Paragon. It has everything my dad would love (because he’s a corny kind of man). He would get a kick out of the LED Cap Light that’s $4.99 or the t-shirts with the witty sayings on them, like the one that says “I need my garage time.”

The LED Cap Light attaches to any baseball cap and is super bright. Perfect for the mechanic on your list.

The LED Cap Light attaches to any baseball cap and is super bright. Perfect for the mechanic on your list.

If you’re buying a gift for a coworker who doesn’t always have the right Tupperware but always brings his or her lunch, invest in a set of Tupperware. I know a couple of people who would be happy to get new Tupperware. I’m not sure where you can find any cheaper than $30 online, but if you’re going food shopping anyway, I’m sure your local grocery store will have a selection.

I know a lot of people have iPhones now, so any kind of Apple accessory would be a welcomed gift. I found a portable charger for my iPhone 5 online for less than $15 on Apple Depot. This website has a little bit of everything for the Apple lover on your list. It’s really quick with shipping, too.

The Lipstick Charger is small but packs a punch. Charge your Apple devices remotely 500 times without it losing its energy!

The Lipstick Charger is small but packs a punch. Charge your Apple devices remotely 500 times without it losing its energy!

Photo books are taking the world by storm. With websites like Shutterfly, it’s so easy to create your own books from memories captured in pictures. What better way to constantly look through and display old photos than to immortalize them in a bright and colorful way. The books seem to range in price, depending on what size book you choose. The most popular size is the 8 x 11 book available in soft or hard cover that can print up to 500 pictures (that’s 1-4 pictures per page). The best part, the regular price for this one is only $25! Not a bad deal at all!

Shutterfly is known for its photo books and making memories last forever through their innovative photo designs.

Shutterfly is known for its photo books and making memories last forever through its innovative photo designs.

I’m a sentimental person at heart, so these are the kinds of gifts that mean the most to me. In the end, though, it doesn’t matter how much money you spend on your loved ones (if they love you, they won’t care either). The holiday season is really about being with your loved ones and spending time with the people who mean the most to you.

What are your feelings about the holidays? Are you sentimental, like me? Do you like giving back to your local community? What do the holidays mean to you? Let me know in the comments below. Happy Holidays! And a very Happy last-day-of-Hanukkah!

Leave a Comment Here

