CoverGirl or bareminerals: For Better or Worse?

After talking to a couple of people, I’ve recently realized that some girls spend way too much money on makeup. So I started thinking: Do more expensive, designer-brand cosmetics like MAC and Smashbox work better than cheaper brands? When I say “work better,” I really mean, “Do they last all day? Do they give you the look you really want? Are they really worth the extra money each month?”

I don’t usually wear a lot of makeup, especially when I’m home. A typical day’s makeup includes eyeliner and mascara and some occasional lip gloss or lipstick. Sometimes I wear foundation and concealer, but I try to stay away from it (because it makes me break out).

I don’t wear a lot of makeup, personally, because I think caking on foundation every day feels like wearing a mask–literally and metaphorically. So before I begin my assessment, I want to say that you don’t have to wear makeup to be pretty or accepted by society.

The first makeup I’m trying is obviously an eyeliner and mascara. My go-to brand is CoverGirl. The brand is averagely priced at your local CVS. Sometimes you can find a great deal at Dollar General also. On the average day, I use CoverGirl’s Black Liquiline Blast and LashBlast Fusion (the purple mascara since it doesn’t matter to me how BIG my lashes are).

CVS has my Eyeliner for $8.49 and Mascara for $9.99. Dollar General has my Eyeliner for $6.00 and Mascara for $8.00. Harmon Discount has my Eyeliner for $6.99 and Mascara for $7.99.

The designer-brand makeup I used are bareminerals’ Round the Clock eyeliner and Flawless Definition Volumizing mascara. I got these in a sampler, so technically I got them for free. But you can find them at Sephora for $15 and $18, respectively, or at Ulta for the same pricing (Round the Clock and Flawless Definition Volumizing).

bareminerals Flawless Definition mascara and sdfkj eyeliner

bareminerals Flawless Definition Volumizing mascara and Round the Clock eyeliner

CoverGirl Lashblast Fusion mascara and Liquiline eyeliner

CoverGirl Lashblast Fusion mascara and Liquiline Blast eyeliner

To state the obvious, before you apply more makeup, you should always wash any old makeup off. Sleeping with foundation or concealer on clogs your pores and is sometimes the reason for breakouts. And sleeping with mascara on gives you raccoon eyes in the morning.

This morning I put my usual makeup on one eye and the bareminerals on the other. Upon application, I liked the fact that the bareminerals products go on smooth and don’t clump. However, my usual makeup doesn’t usually clump unless it’s old or almost used up. The bareminerals liner had a smoother tip (as if it had more liquid in it than my usual half-liquid-half-pencil liner). No one would know by looking at my eyes that I was wearing two different kinds of makeup, though.

Morning: bareminerals on left eye, CoverGirl on right.

Morning: bareminerals on left eye, CoverGirl on right.

On a normal day at work, I find that my makeup stays on until lunchtime and then starts smearing. Other times I subconsciously rub my eyes so much that more makeup ends up on my hands than stays on my eyes. Therefore, I made a conscious effort not to touch my eyes or face.

By lunchtime, my makeup was still in place. Neither eye had smudged, thanks to me not itching them. It actually stayed perfect most of the day, even after an hour of cardio at the gym. By the time I got home that night, it had smudged a little bit under my eye but wasn’t really noticeable.

Night: After a full day at work and at the gym.

Night: After a full day at work and at the gym.

I was able to wash the expensive brand off just as easily as my CoverGirl. To me, buying expensive makeup each month isn’t worth it. If you’re a long-time buyer of MAC, Smashbox, or any other brand that sells pieces for more than $10 each, you might consider trying other brands to supplement that expensive bill every month.

On the other end of the spectrum, though, you shouldn’t buy makeup from the Dollar Store. Super-cheap makeup might irritate your skin because of the material it’s made from. I’ve noticed, over the years, that super-cheap eyeliner doesn’t cover very well, either. It doesn’t work and might irritate your skin = stay away! (And this is coming from the frugal girl!)

If you have any questions, or want to comment on any makeup brands, don’t hesitate to comment below. Let’s create discussion!

P.S.- Be Inspired. www.businessinsider.com/13-year-old-make-up-blogger-and-cancer-patient-becomes-honorary-covergirl-2012-10

Related posts:
Here’s What You Should Ask For For Holiday Gifts (Thought Catalog)
Can’t beat bareMinerals (Leeanna Faulkner)
No Face, Full Face (Harriet Chiam)

One thought on “CoverGirl or bareminerals: For Better or Worse?

Leave a Comment Here

