Juice Detox/Diet Day 4

*Usually I would put the disclaimer here but I thought about it, and I still have a bunch of fruit and vegetables left. $50 worth of groceries for five days really isn’t bad, especially if you make three juices per day! It’s actually pretty cheap.*

So day four went pretty well. I woke up in a fog, dressed myself in some god-awful outfit, and went to work with a protein shake in hand. I didn’t prepare any juices for myself today because I was tired last night, and it would’ve taken me too long to decide on a lunch drink. I’m terrible at motivating myself once I have a lazy thought in my head. So, I took the easy way out and packed protein shakes today.

I felt great today considering the last few days I’ve been dragging. I felt a little more energized and less hungry at lunchtime. Actually, I only drank half my shake! I’m so proud of myself. I’ve been drinking 60 oz. of water every day. Needless to say, I’ve probably peed off some weight. I’m going to try to make it through the weekend and see how I feel. I really want to get back into the gym, though, so maybe one solid meal per day won’t hurt.

I really wasn’t hungry at dinner time either. I wound up drinking only half of my protein shake. I fell asleep around 9 p.m. (At 23 years old, I feel like an old lady!) I used to be able to stay up until 10 or 10:30 and feel okay in the morning for work. On this diet, I don’t really see an increase in energy yet. But this diet works. I’ve only lost two lbs. so far, but I haven’t stuck to it 100%. (Drinking protein shakes instead of juice is not part of the diet, oops!) If someone sticks to this diet 100%, you will surely lose seven lbs. in seven days.

I have two downfalls that really impacted my weight loss: (1) I didn’t add ginger to any of my juices, and (2) I didn’t put kale in any of them. They are the two big influencers of this diet. Ginger acts as an appetite suppressant and colon cleanser. You can read more about it here: http://diet.lovetoknow.com/wiki/Ginger_Root_Appetite_Suppress. Kale is rich in vitamins and nutrients, especially vitamin k and antioxidants. You can read more about it here: www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/the-truth-about-kale.

So over the weekend, I will search out kale (reluctantly) and some sort of ginger root vitamins. The way I figure it, I can still do a juice as breakfast because I like all the fruity varieties. As for lunch, I can try kale mixed with my juice and MAYBE ginger root. It depends on how daring I feel at Shoprite whether I buy a whole root.

Anyway, I learned today that I (obviously) wasn’t doing the diet right and that there are easy ways for me to jump back on it. Since my body has already acclimated to using liquid as fuel/energy, I think I will try some other juices next week. (I know every day I say something different, but hopefully I stick to my guns and ride it out. This diet seems to really work, so why shouldn’t I reap the benefits of a little sacrifice?)

Feel free to leave comments and questions below!

Leave a Comment Here

