Juice/Detox Day 3

*Disclaimer: If you chose to do this diet, it is NOT cheap. Unless the ingredients mentioned below are on your weekly shopping list, read with caution. The first three days of food cost me $50.*

So I’ve made it to day three on this diet, even though I shouldn’t really count yesterday as a juicing day. I prepared my juices last night and chilled them for this morning. I woke up feeling kind of run-down. My eyes are still heavy, and it looks like one eye is semi-bloodshot. I also felt really thirsty.

Last night I was feeling a little disappointed in myself for not sticking to the juice 100%. I had promised myself that I would stick to it no matter what, but I failed myself. So today I’m starting anew, with a new mind-set, and new feelings on juicing. You just need to experiment with different flavors that go well together and see what you like. I know that I need to be excited about drinking a juice, so if I know that it’s going to taste like pineapple, for example, I’ll drink it.

To make my breakfast juice you’ll need a mango (skinned and pitted), about one third of a whole pineapple (cored and skinned), a pink lady apple, about a cup of grapes, a cup of blueberries, and five strawberries. Again, it took me a while to figure this one out. At first I had the strawberries and blueberries juiced together and the pineapple and mango juiced together in two different cups. At the last minute I got frustrated and mixed the two. Turned out to be a good mistake!

This juice is delicious! It’s tart like the pineapple but sweet like the mango and berries. The mango made the concoction a little thicker, almost like a smoothie. My inspiration for the pineapple mango mix was, sadly, from a commercial for McDonald’s. They have a berry smoothie and a mango smoothie. So I thought, “That’s a good idea!” I didn’t have any raspberries to add to the berry smoothie, so it didn’t accumulate much juice. The mango and pineapple didn’t produce much juice either. But mixed together, they gave me about 18 oz. of juice.

Lunch juices really get me frustrated. I don’t like many green vegetables. I’ve already established that I didn’t want to use kale leaves, which is probably my biggest problem. I found out the hard way that broccoli doesn’t produce juice, and spinach is okay, but I have to juice two to three handfuls each time to produce enough juice/protein. My solution: juice together all the green vegetables and fruits that I have.

My lunch juice today consists of one cucumber, three big handfuls of spinach, a half lemon, two granny smith apples, a carrot (I tricked you!), and a few leaves of mint for garnish. I had half the ingredients juiced together when I got stuck. I didn’t know how else to make it sweeter. I read that adding carrot juice to your mix will make it sweeter, so I tried it. It didn’t come out too bad either! From there I decided to thin it out and add some zest with the half lemon. Then I added some mint leaves to the juice itself (I didn’t juice them) to add some more flavor.

The combination of flavors here is better than the green juice I made two days ago. You get the tangy juice of the lemon mixed with the tartness of the granny smith apples. And the mint adds a special after effect. The flavors really work well together. However, I have a sensitive stomach, and the amount of lemon juice I put in made my stomach upset. I guess I’m not a fan of green juices. Nothing I do seems to make them more appealing. These juices are making me turn against vegetables I once loved.

So after my lunch juice, I’m back to square one: feeling tired, weak, and having back and side pain from not eating anything. I have no idea whether I want to continue this detox or not. I really don’t want to make three or four juices for myself every day of my life. (Meaning, I want to eat real food again within the next few days. I don’t want to be a lifelong juicer.)

By the time I got home after work, I was so tired that I made myself a protein shake and laid down on the couch. Obviously, I haven’t been going to the gym because of my low energy level. My goal, now, is to make it to the weekend and see how I feel. I need to go to the gym, so if I don’t feel better tomorrow, I might as well try another diet.

Today I learned that dieting with food is so much better than dieting with juice. I will never complain about eating plain brown rice and dry chicken breast again! All I have to do is read this page and remember how terrible the past three days were. I’ve also learned that sacrificing your health for a fad diet isn’t worth it. If you want to lose weight through juicing, go for it. I will support you. Just know that it isn’t for everyone.

Feel free to leave comments or questions below.

Leave a Comment Here

