Juice Detox/Diet Day 2

*Disclaimer: If you chose to do this diet, it is NOT cheap. Unless the ingredients mentioned below are on your weekly shopping list, read with caution. The first three days of food cost me $50.*

So after a horrible day one on this detox, I’ve decided to restructure a few things. (1) There was NO way I was getting the right amount of nutrients with the juices I made yesterday. So I shifted gears and went in a different direction. For breakfast today I had a protein shake. (2) I HAVE to eat something for lunch to keep me going. Today I brought with me some spinach dip and carrots and strawberries. Hopefully that will be enough fuel to keep me going until my next protein shake at 4:30 p.m.

To start off, I fell asleep at 8 p.m. last night and woke up at 6:15 a.m. this morning. Usually I can survive on six hours of sleep, but the juice really took a toll on my energy level. (Hence I revamped my menu.) I went to sleep last night with a migraine-like headache, and I couldn’t take anything because there wasn’t much in my stomach. I drank about 50 oz. of water throughout the day yesterday and plan on drinking more today.

I didn’t prepare any juices for today. (I didn’t have time, and I thought having a snack would keep my energy level up.) Therefore, I packed two tablespoons of spinach dip, two cut carrots, and five strawberries for lunch. As aforementioned, I brought another protein shake for my 4:30 snack.

The protein powder I use is really good! I try a different flavor every now and then. Some are really good, and some are really terrible. Right now I have Gaspari Nutrition’s milk chocolate. A two lb. container lasts me about a month or so and costs $30. It tastes just like a chocolate milkshake–sweet, smooth (not chalky), and fills my craving for chocolate. For every scoop of powder, I add 20 oz. of water. Some other protein powders taste really chalky, so I usually add less water to “pound” it quickly. You can find what you’re looking for at www.prosource.net. DO NOT GO TO WALMART FOR PROTEIN POWDER! Their brands are cheaper because they contain more additives like sugar to make them taste better.

I felt a lot better after lunch today than I did yesterday. Mind you, I didn’t eat an entire meal. It was more of a snack to hold me over until my next protein shake. I’m treating today as a transition from solid food eating to all juice. Tonight I plan on experimenting with different juices and adding more protein to them so that I don’t fall asleep at work again… oops! At this point yesterday, I was ready to throw up my lunch juice and grab a hamburger. Today I feel better and more energized.

When I got home from work, I experimented with different juices. I had 10 different fruits and vegetables lying on my counter. After juicing and tasting each one, I couldn’t decide which ones to mix. The recipes I looked up weren’t much help because I either didn’t have all the ingredients or didn’t have anything to substitute for celery. So I took everything green I had and mixed it together for tomorrow’s lunch, and all the fruit that tasted good together went into my breakfast juice.

At the end of day two, I’ve learned that perseverance is key to any diet. And in order to really stick to a diet, you have to have a strong support network. (No thanks to Mom for offering me ice cream!) Anyway, day three should be a good one. I have a little more motivation and determination to get me through!

Feel free to leave comments and questions below!

Leave a Comment Here

