Juice Detox/Diet Day 1

*Disclaimer: If you chose to do this diet, it is NOT cheap. Unless the ingredients mentioned below are on your weekly shopping list, read with caution. The first three days of food cost me $50.*

So this week I’m starting a seven-day juice detox/diet. I wanted to chronicle my daily feelings and drinks, in case anyone else is interested in doing one of these. From what I’ve researched, the first three or four days will be the toughest, as my body will be reacting to the change from solid foods to all juice. I will post the recipes I use for each juice, the supplements I take, and any exercise I perform throughout the week. At 5’2” I’m starting off at 161 lbs. The website where I got the recipes advertised “Lose 7 Pounds in 7 Days.” Let’s see how true that really holds.

Again, I’m going to try to keep to the all-juice diet, but the website said I can have one solid “meal” if I feel I need it. I might have to eat some crackers in between juices because I can already feel my stomach gurgling from the green apples. (Not to be gross, but a side effect of doing these juice diets is diarrhea. Since your body isn’t getting solid food, there’s really nothing for it to break down into poop. Also, the recipes that I’ve found have a lot of acidic juices in them, such as apples and lemons.) The website also recommended drinking at least 16 oz. of water in between juices. I already go to the bathroom about six times a day, so my expectation here is that I’ll be living in the bathroom this week.

My initial feelings on juicing: I hope my stomach holds up! I have a sensitive stomach to begin with, and the acidic juices might make my stomach upset throughout the day. But the good part of juicing is that I can fiddle around with the ingredients. For example, the recipes I’m using call for kale leaves and ginger. I have no desire to search out either of these ingredients at my local Shoprite. I really don’t have a taste for ginger either. Instead, I cut out the ginger from the recipes and substituted kale leaves for a handful of bagged baby spinach.

I also hope that this diet really works and cuts down body fat instead of muscle. To compensate for this change, I will be taking a daily multivitamin and drinking a protein shake before or after working out. My workouts consist of a half hour to an hour of cardio five days a week and a lifting session every other day. I work out for muscle tone and to burn fat. The reason why I’m starting a juice diet is because I’ve been working out with this regimen for about six months and haven’t lost much body fat.

My expectations are high, I know. But I hope for the best. So let’s get to the nitty gritty of this detox/diet:

Juicing requires a juicer… go figure! So I went to Walmart and bought myself a small, cheap juicer. It’s made by Black & Decker and only cost $35, compared to others on the shelf for $100. The first juice I made took me about 15 minutes to prepare. This included gathering the ingredients, cutting them into pieces that would fit into my juicer, and cleaning up afterwards. The first time I used the juicer I made such a mess. The pulp flew all over the place because I couldn’t push the fruit or vegetables down while grabbing for more simultaneously. I should be neater next time though. I just have to get used to using a juicer.

The first juice I made: The ingredients you need are two granny smith apples, one medium cucumber, one cup of blueberries, two cups of red seedless grapes, and one handful of baby spinach (original recipe called for two kale leaves and one inch of ginger). It’s called a “Morning Glory,” if you want to look up variations of this recipe.

As an initial reaction to this first juice, I like it. It’s acidic because of the granny smith apples, but the grapes and cucumber make it sweet. It’s a fresh start to the day. I made mine the night before and chilled it for the morning. You can also pour it over ice. It made roughly 20 oz. of juice, which fit perfectly in the shaker bottle I use for the gym. These are available at Walmart as well. I got mine for about $7 each. (Health stores usually sell them for $20.)

The lunch juice is less appealing. The ingredients include one granny smith apple, one cucumber, four stalks of celery, a quarter lemon peeled, and a handful of baby spinach (original recipe called for four to six kale leaves and one inch of ginger). This one is called “Mean Green,” if you want to look up variations of this recipe. The celery has a very potent taste here. Two hours after I drank it, I started feeling nauseated. My stomach was really upset, and eating crackers didn’t help.

By this time, I also had a headache and a craving for chocolate. I had urinated about a dozen times since 7 a.m. and pooped twice. So far, all of the research I’ve done has proven to be right. I usually go to the gym on Monday nights, so I’m hoping I’ll still be able to go, without feeling sick. I’m also really physically exhausted. My eyes are slowly closing then popping open, realizing that I’m falling asleep mid-sentence.

I usually leave work around 4:30 p.m. for the gym. It was not happening today. I was so exhausted that I went home and crashed on my couch. I skipped the juice and had a meal: pasta with a little butter and garlic for the carbs. Not even that helped because I fell asleep at 8 p.m., which is super early for me. My headache got worse since lunch and was more like a migraine. Sleeping seemed to help it, though.

At the end of day one, I felt like quitting. My health took a big hit and really dragged me down. I think the list on this website is okay (www.justonjuice.com/7-day-juice-fast-plan/), but I wouldn’t make these juices again. For tomorrow, I will do some more research on the website and bring a lunch with me to work. No food = no energy!

Feel free to leave comments and questions below!

2 thoughts on “Juice Detox/Diet Day 1

Leave a Comment Here

